Director, screenwriter, writer

Nawapol Thamrongrattanarit was born on 4 February 1984 in Bangkok, Thailand. He graduated from the Faculty of Arts,  Chulalongkorn University in Bangkok, where he majored in Chinese.

He started to make short films with the learning-by-doing approach during his time at university. After graduating in 2006, he has worked as a scriptwriter/script consultant for both independent and mainstream feature films, and as a film critic for film and cultural magazines.

In 2006, his experimental documentary SEE won two awards from Fat Film Festival in Thailand.

In 2007, he attended Berlinale Talent Campus. His short film BANGKOK TANKS was officially selected to be screened in Home Affairs programme, and in many film and art festivals. Nawapol’s short films such as CHERIE IS KOREAN-THAI won Best Short Film from Thai Short Film and Video Festival 2010 and was screened in film festivals such as International Film Festival Rotterdam.

Nawapol’s first feature film entitled 36 won New Currents Award from Busan International Film Festival 2012 and was screened at many film festivals around the world. His second feature film MARY IS HAPPY, MARY IS HAPPY, funded by Biennale College Cinema and Gucci, showed at Venice Film Festival 2013. Nawapol’s feature documentary THE MASTER was presented in Busan International Film Festival’s Wide Angle section in 2015. That year, he also directed HEART ATTACK for GTH, the biggest film studio in Thailand. The film won 8 awards at the Thailand National Film Association Awards. He has since returned to his roots in independent filmmaking with DIE TOMORROW which will screen in the Forum section of Berlin International Film Festival 2018.



2017, feature

- Berlin International Film Festival 2018, Forum


2015, feature 

- Thailand National Film Association Awards, 8 Awards


2015, feature

- Busan International Film Festival 2015, Wide Angle


2013, feature

- Venice International Film Festival 2013


2012, feature

- Busan International Film Festival 2012, New Currents Award